《泰晤士高等教育》創新與影響高峰會理大科創巡禮
 

來自高等教育界、政府及工商界的世界知名創新者將於今年夏天匯聚香港,出席一個國際高峰會,探討大學如何透過創新研究與教學加強其對社會的影響,為世界和人類福祉作出貢獻。

首個「泰晤士高等教育創新與影響高峰會」(Times Higher EducationInnovation & Impact Summit) 由香港理工大學(理大) 及《泰晤士高等教育》聯合主辦,將於2017年5月31日至6月2日期間在香港唯港薈酒店舉行。作為理大80周年校慶的重點活動,高峰會將以「創新研究與教學對強化大學在經濟及社會方面的影響」為題,進行多場主題演講及激發思考的研討。

理大科創巡

高峰會將於5月31日由理大科創巡揭開序幕,該科創巡主要介紹理大在四個創新研究領域的成就,這些科研成就不但為社會經濟帶來重大影響,更促進大學與業界的協作。四個領域的展示內容如下:

一、航天、航空及鐵路

介紹理大如何參與太空探索、研發用於鐵路監測的光纖感應系統,以及發展飛機保養維修及全面檢修技術。

參觀:航空服務研究中心、三維打印技術中心實驗室

二、可持續城市發展

分享理大如何研發及應用可持續城市發展和智能城市的新技術,及討論大學於改變及保持市區發展面貎所擔當的角色。

參觀:地下管線測量實驗室、建築虛擬模型實驗室及消防工程實驗室

三、以人為本的創新發明

展出理大以人為本的創新項目,包括醫療方面的基因研究、有助紡織業發展的先進技術,以一個關於亞洲人頭形與面形的研究,該研究改變了世界對於尺碼的觀念,惠及生產太陽眼鏡、頭盔等產品的一眾行業。

參觀:「中國尺碼」項目、無幅射脊柱側彎檢查系統及公共設計研究室

四、酒店及旅遊

介紹於全球酒店與旅遊管理業中領先的創新教學模式,以及於Vinoteca Lab 品嚐中國美酒。

參觀:理大酒店及旅遊業管理學院的頂尖設施:Vivienne Tam設計的酒店套房及其他唯港薈設施

屆時,與會代表亦會參觀理大設計年展,並與設計學生對話。

PolyU Showcase at Times Higher Education Innovation and Impact Summit
 

Date: 31/5 (Wednesday)

For delegates of Times Higher Education Innovation and Impact Summit only.  Details of the Summit can be found here.

World-renowned innovators from higher education, government and business sectors will gather in an international summit in Hong Kong this summer to explore how to enhance universities' impacts through innovative research and teaching for the benefit of the society and mankind.

The inaugural Times Higher Education (THE) Innovation & Impact Summit, co-hosted by The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) and THE, will run from 31 May to 2 June 2017 at Hotel ICON in Hong Kong. A key celebratory event of PolyU's 80th anniversary, the Summit will feature keynote speeches and a series of thought-provoking panel discussions under the theme of "Powering Universities' Economic and Social Impact through Innovative Research and Teaching".

PolyU Showcase

The Summit will commence with a PolyU Showcase on 31 May, highlighting the four areas that PolyU innovations have been creating impacts to the economy and society, while uplifting university-industry partnership. The feature contents in the four sessions are:

1. Space, aviation and railway

There will be presentations of how PolyU ventured into space, and how we developed optical fibre sensing system for railway monitoring and technologies in enhancing aircraft maintenance, repair and overhaul.

Visits: Aviation Services Research Centre and University Research Facility in 3D printing

2. Sustainable urban development
PolyU will share how we develop and implement new technologies and solutions for sustainable urban development and smart cities, and will open up discussions of the role of higher education institutions in changing and sustaining the landscapes of urban development.

Visits: Underground Utility Survey Laboratory, Construction Virtual Prototyping Laboratory and Fire Engineering Laboratory.

3. Human-centered innovation

The Showcase will feature the application of human-centered innovation in genetics research in healthcare, advanced solutions to the development of the garment industry, and how research on Asian head and face shapes changes the world's perception of sizing, benefiting a host of industries that create products such as sunglasses, helmets and more.

Tour: SizeChina, radiation-free scoliosis scan system, Public Design Lab.

4. Hospitality

Pioneering teaching innovations in global hotel and tourism management will be highlighted and there will be Chinese wine appreciation at Vinoteca Lab.

Visits: state-of-the-art facilities in School of Hotel and Tourism Management, Designer Suite by Vivienne Tam and other facilities in Hotel ICON.

The delegates will also visit the PolyU Design Annual Show and talk to the student exhibitors.